Cold. Windy. Riding.

“Every worthwhile accomplishment, big or little, has its stages of drudgery and triumph; a beginning, a struggle and a victory.”
Ghandi

I have not wanted to post for a while because I have felt extremely negative lately. However, riding really makes me so very happy. The wind has just been awful out here, just ripping, but Chance and I made some progress, even when the only dry ground we had was a 20 meter circle, but lots of lateral work and bending happened during those days.

Anyway, by persevering we have made some solid progress, he is finally bending and strengthening to the left, picking up the left lead and is less nervous with other riders in the arena, definite progress. I suppose that I do need to digress, I went to Europe for 2 weeks in January and when I got back Chance seemed to have lost his brain. He did not do well having that time off. We rode a few days without incident, and then went to the indoor down the road and it was a slight disaster. He sweated and jigged, kicked out at me when I lunged him, reared and struck, really was bad. Ok he was horrible. After that rough day we had baby bootcamp, where he worked his butt off for about 2 weeks, lunging and going all the way back to the basics. Finally we did get back on track, that was all the way back in January and we just started jumping again this week. That is our quick catch up. We went from really reall rough to back on track.

In other misc. times, I did my first clip job, on my own horse and discovered that I really liked it! I had so much fun perfecting it, although Chance had much less fun than I. Chance and I have really formed a deep bond, he really follows me, trots to meet me in the pasture, just makes me feel like a million bucks.

Today I was sick of riding in the wind, and decided to try something a little different, we went in the round pen just to see what he would do. Chance hooked on like we had done it every day of his life, and then we worked on some other fun moves. He learned to disengage his hips both directions and started learning how to back up in response to my cues. I also learned how much he does not like me on his right side, he protects his right eye diligently, so now I will start to work more off the right side. What an interesting discovery.

Tomorrow we have a lesson with our trainer, so hopefully will have some interesting new tricks and such to share, hopefully going to work on him being more relaxed about jumping, and maybe do some more coursework!! YAY!

The pictures on this post are from two days ago, just some fun riding, nothing really too interesting, just some flatwork and then a bit of crossrail work.

Leave a Reply

